官網今天的新聞, 節錄幾段出來: from http://atmlb.com/ZRXkFL
Major League Baseball issued a statement Thursday regarding the disputed
instant-replay ruling in the ninth inning of Wednesday's A's-Indians game,
acknowledging the call was "improper," but saying it will stand as final.
In the wake of what appeared to be a game-tying homer but ruled a double,
leading to the ejection of A's manager Bob Melvin before the Indians held on
for a 4-3 victory, MLB executive vice president for baseball operations Joe
Torre said via a statement:
"By rule, the decision to reverse a call by use of instant replay is at the
sole discretion of the crew chief. In the opinion of Angel Hernandez, who was
last night's crew chief, there was not clear and convincing evidence to
overturn the decision on the field. It was a judgment call, and as such, it
stands as final.
"Home and away broadcast feeds are available for all uses of instant replay,
and they were available to the crew last night. Given what we saw, we
recognize that an improper call was made. Perfection is an impossible
standard in any endeavor, but our goal is always to get the calls right.
Earlier this morning, we began the process of speaking with the crew to
thoroughly review all the circumstances surrounding last night's decision."
文章後面還有兩段就是昨晚那個 play 的文字敘述就恕刪了. 簡單來說, statement 就以
"沒有很清楚的證據顯示可以改判" 為由. 表示此判決為 "不恰當", 但就此結案.
不意外 Joe Torre 會以這樣的方式結案 (or, 河蟹)
畢竟這是 official standard. 科科.
Angel Hernandez 再度逃過一劫.